{ Banner Image } Print PDF
Subscribe to Publications




Country-Specific International Travel Restrictions Will Be Rescinded November 8, 2021

November 1, 2021

Beginning November 8, 2021, international travelers subject to CDC country-specific travel restrictions will be able to resume travel to the U.S. without applying for an exemption. The current travel restrictions apply to certain travelers from China, Iran, the European Schengen area (the EU), the United Kingdom, the Republic of Ireland, Brazil, South Africa and India, and prohibit a foreign national who does not qualify for an exemption from traveling to the U.S. if they have been physically present in one of the designated countries 14 days in advance of their arrival to the U.S. These restrictions will be rescinded and replaced by new travel restrictions based on individual vaccination status:

This is welcome news for international travelers from the 33 countries affected by the travel restrictions who have not been able to qualify for an exemption. Under the current travel restrictions, set to expire November 8, 2021, U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents and their spouses are exempt, as well as parents of U.S. citizen minor children (under age 21). Otherwise, affected travelers must apply for a National Interest Exemption through a U.S. Consulate abroad.

For further questions or assistance, please contact the Miller Canfield Immigration Team.

This information is based on the facts and guidance available at the time of publication and may be subject to change.