News & Events

{ Banner Image } Print PDF

Miller Canfield Attorney Inducted as a Fellow into the Litigation Counsel of America

November 16, 2007

Amy M. Johnston, a principal in the Troy office of Miller Canfield, has been inducted as a Fellow into the Litigation Counsel of America (LCA). In addition, she has been named the co-chair of the State of Michigan Delegation of the LCA.

The Litigation Counsel of America is a trial lawyer honorary society composed of less than one-half of one percent of American lawyers. Fellowship in the LCA is highly selective and by invitation only. Fellows are selected based upon effectiveness and accomplishment in litigation, both at the trial and appellate levels, and superior ethical reputation. The LCA is aggressively diverse in its composition. Established as a trial and appellate lawyer honorary society reflecting the American bar in the twenty-first century, the LCA represents the best in law among its membership.

At Miller Canfield, Johnston’s practice includes petroleum marketing litigation, franchise litigation, product litigation and torts, corporate discovery management, and product safety. She is an experienced lead trial lawyer in complex commercial, franchise, product liability, business and personal injury matters, primarily for corporate defendants.

She is named in Michigan Super Lawyers, a ranking of the top 5% of lawyers in Michigan and Marquis Who’s Who of Emerging Leaders 2007. She serves as Master of the Bench of the American Inns of Court and is president and serves of on the board of directors of the Catholic Lawyers’ Society. Johnston is also a member of the Federal Bar Association, State Bar of Michigan, Ohio Bar Association, Association of Defense Trial Counsel.

She received her J.D, cum laude, from the University of Detroit School of Law, and holds a B.G.S. from the University of Michigan.

She resides in Grosse Pointe Woods.

The law firm of Miller Canfield was established in Detroit in 1852 and employs more than 800 in offices in Michigan, Illinois, Massachusetts, Florida, New York, Canada and Poland.