News & Events

{ Banner Image } Print PDF

113 Miller Canfield Lawyers Named Best in U.S.

Firm leads Michigan in number of lawyers named

September 8, 2010

Miller Canfield announced today that 113 of its lawyers were selected by their peers for inclusion in the pre-eminent legal referral guide, The Best Lawyers in America® 2011 published by Woodward/White, Inc. As the leading law firm in Michigan, Miller Canfield has 35 more lawyers earning this designation than the next most recognized firm.

Miller Canfield ranks number one in Michigan with the most lawyers named in 19 categories including Banking, Commercial Litigation, Construction, Criminal Defense, Energy, Information Technology, Labor and Employment, and Public Finance; and the firm has more lawyers listed from the cities of Ann Arbor, Kalamazoo, Saginaw and Troy than any other law firm in Michigan.

Following is a list of Miller Canfield attorneys honored in Best Lawyers® 2011. Five lawyers were named for the first time this year (*). Four lawyers have been recognized in Best Lawyers since its inception in 1983 (**).

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Mark T. Boonstra, Antitrust, Bet-the-Company Litigation and Commercial Litigation; Paul R. Dimond, Real Estate; Joseph M. Fazio, Real Estate; Robert E. Gilbert**, Real Estate; Linda O. Goldberg, Labor and Employment; Marta A. Manildi, Information Technology and Intellectual Property; Sonal Hope Mithani, Commercial Litigation; Thomas C. O’Brien, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Non-White Collar Criminal Defense, White-Collar Criminal Defense, Personal Injury Litigation; Stephen G. Palms**, Real Estate; Roselyn R. Parmenter, Health Care; Erik H. Serr, Corporate; Timothy D. Sochocki, Health Care


Darryl R. Davidson, Public Finance; Robert T. Zielinski, Labor and Employment

Detroit, Michigan

Frederick A. Acomb, Commercial Litigation; Marjory G. Basile, Intellectual Property; Bruce D. Birgbauer**, Corporate and International Trade and Finance; Orin D. Brustad, Employee Benefits; Harold W. Bulger, Jr., Public Finance; Beverly Hall Burns, Education and Labor and Employment; Michael P. Coakley*, Commercial Litigation; Thomas D. Colis, Public Finance; Donna J. Donati, Labor and Employment; Lawrence M. Dudek, Construction and Real Estate; W. Mack Faison,  Commercial Litigation; Adam S. Forman, Labor and Employment; Brant A. Freer, Public Finance and Tax; Joseph F. Galvin, Land Use & Zoning, Municipal and Real Estate; Leonard D. Givens, Labor and Employment; Jonathan S. Green, Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights; Michael W. Hartmann, Commercial Litigation, Legal Malpractice and Professional Malpractice; Donald W. Keim, Public Finance; Douglas M. Kilbourne, Banking; Stephen S. LaPlante, Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights; Thomas W. Linn, Banking; Anthony J. Mavrinac, Banking; Michael P. McGee, Public Finance; Patrick F. McGow, Public Finance; Jeffrey M. McHugh, Public Finance; Samuel J. Mc Kim III**, Tax; David K. McLeod, Banking; Christopher A. McMican, Employee Benefits; Megan P. Norris, Labor and Employment; Kathryn L. Ossian, Information Technology; A. Michael Palizzi, Intellectual Property; Thomas G. Parachini, Commercial Litigation; Joel L. Piell, Public Finance; Clarence L. Pozza, Jr., Bet-the-Company Litigation and Commercial Litigation; Steven A. Roach, Banking; Jerry T. Rupley, Education and Public Finance; Larry J. Saylor, Antitrust; P. Rivka Schochet, Franchise; Richard J. Seryak, Labor and Employment; Michael H. Traison, Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights; Amanda Van Dusen, Public Finance, Education and Banking; Carl H. von Ende, Commercial Litigation, Bet-the-Company Litigation, and Banking; Peter W. Waldmeir, Energy; Jerome R. Watson, Labor and Employment; John H. Willems, Labor and Employment

Grand Rapids, Michigan

Robert L. DeJong, Commercial Litigation and Personal Injury Litigation; Richard A. Gaffin, Intellectual Property; Charles ( Sandy) Mishkind*, Labor and Employment; John M. Sommerdyke, Banking, Mergers & Acquisitions, Private Funds and Project Finance; Stanley J. Stek, Commercial Litigation, Eminent Domain and Condemnation and Personal Injury Litigation; Robert E.L. Wright, Alternative Dispute Resolution; Jeffrey G. York*, Corporate

Kalamazoo, Michigan

Ronald E. Baylor, Environmental; Eric V. Brown, Jr., Corporate; John R. Cook, Corporate; Harold J. Decker, Biotechnology and Commercial Litigation; Pamela C. Enslen, Alternative Dispute Resolution and Commercial Litigation; Kurt P. McCamman*, Commercial Litigation; John M. Novak, Banking; Don M. Schmidt, Municipal, Public Finance and Real Estate; Kurt N. Sherwood, Labor and Employment; James E. Spurr, Construction; Thomas H. Van Dis, Health Care; John G. Van Slambrouck, Trusts and Estates; B. Jay Yelton III, Commercial Litigation

Lansing, Michigan

Ronald W. Bloomberg, Energy and Natural Resources; Douglas W. Crim, Environmental; William J. Danhof, Public Finance and Banking; Christopher J. Dembowski, Public Finance; Michael J. Hodge, Administrative; Harvey J. Messing, Administrative, Energy, Natural Resources and Oil & Gas; Thomas C. Phillips, Environmental and Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law; Brad S. Rutledge, Public Finance; James B. Thelen*, Labor and Employment; Sherri A. Wellman, Energy and Natural Resources

New York City

Gregory L. Curtner, Antitrust and Sports

Saginaw, Michigan

James C. Foresman, Health Care

Troy, Michigan

James L. Allen, Banking and Real Estate; Frank L. Andrews, Environmental; Thomas G. Appleman, Corporate and Securities; Brad B. Arbuckle, Corporate, Securities and Mergers & Acquisitions; Thomas W. Cranmer, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Non-White-Collar Criminal Defense, White-Collar Criminal Defense, Commercial Litigation and Ethics and Professional Responsibility; Gregory V. DiCenso, Trusts and Estates; Kalman G. Goren, Employee Benefits; Robert J. Haddad, Mass Tort Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation and Product Liability Litigation; Ronald E. Hodess, Construction and Real Estate;  Brian R. Jenney, Elder Law; Amy M. Johnston, Personal Injury Litigation; David D. Joswick, Corporate, Mergers & Acquisitions and Banking; Kenneth E. Konop, Trusts and Estates; Matthew F. Leitman, Non-White Collar Criminal Defense and White-Collar Criminal Defense; Anna M. Maiuri, Environmental; Stephen J. Ott, Mass Tort Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation and Product Liability Litigation; James A. Simpson, Banking; David M. Thoms, Non-Profit/Charities and Trusts and Estates; J. Kevin Trimmer, Real Estate; Brian S. Westenberg, Mass Tort Litigation; James W. Williams, Trusts and Estates; Mark E. Wilson, Health Care

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 39,000 leading attorneys cast almost 3.1 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”