News & Events

{ Banner Image } Print PDF

Miller Canfield Attorney Mark Boonstra Elected Chair of Washtenaw County Republican Party

May 19, 2008

The law firm of Miller Canfield announces that Mark T. Boonstra, a principal in the Ann Arbor office, was recently elected chair of the Washtenaw County Republican Party.

At Miller Canfield, Boonstra specializes in commercial litigation, including antitrust, securities and shareholder disputes, contract law, business torts, class actions, and non-compete and trade secret litigation. He currently serves as a deputy leader of the Litigation and Dispute Resolution Practice Group.

A member of Phi Beta Kappa, he received his law degree from the University of Michigan Law School, an M.A.E. (Master of Applied Economics) from the University of Michigan, and a B.A. from Michigan State University. Prior to joining Miller Canfield in 1985, he served as a Law Clerk to Hon. Ralph B. Guy, Jr., in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan.

He currently serves on the Representative Assembly of the State Bar of Michigan, and is a past chair of the State Bar's Antitrust, Franchising, and Trade Regulation Section. He also is a director and past chair of the Washtenaw County Economic Club, a graduate of the 2001-02 class of Leadership Ann Arbor, a member of The Federalist Society, president of the board of directors of the Christian Montessori School of Ann Arbor, and was formerly on the board of trustees for Webster United Church of Christ.

He was named an Outstanding Young Man of America in 1988, and is listed in Michigan Super Lawyers, Marquis' Who's Who in American Law, Who's Who in America, Who's Who of Emerging Leaders in America, and Who's Who Among Rising Young Americans, Strathmore's Who's Who in Practicing Attorneys, and International Biographic Centre's Men of Achievement.

He resides in Dexter, Michigan.

The law firm of Miller Canfield was established in Detroit in 1852 and employs 800 in offices in Michigan, Illinois, Massachusetts, Florida, New York, Canada and Poland.