News & Events

{ Banner Image } Print PDF


Nine Miller Canfield Lawyers Named "Lawyer of the Year" by Best Lawyers

August 27, 2014

Miller Canfield announces that nine of its lawyers have been identified as the leading practitioner in their practice area by Best Lawyers® 2015. Only a single lawyer in each high-profile legal specialty in each large community is being honored as a “Lawyer of the Year.” One lawyer, Tom O’Brien, was honored as Lawyer of the Year in two different categories.

The lawyers being honored as “Lawyers of the Year” received particularly high ratings in surveys by earning a high level of respect among their peers for their abilities, professionalism, and integrity.  

The following Miller Canfield lawyers have been named Best Lawyers' 2015 “Lawyer of the Year” in the following cities and legal areas:

Ann Arbor, Michigan “Lawyers of the Year” 

Thomas C. O'BrienBet-The-Company Litigation and Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants

Joseph M. Fazio – Litigation-Real Estate

Detroit, Michigan “Lawyers of the Year”

Marjory G. BasileLitigation-Patent

Robert J. HaddadMass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants

Megan P. Norris – Employment Law – Management

David M. Thoms – Non-profit/Charities Law

Amanda Van Dusen – Public Finance Law

Grand Rapids, Michigan “Lawyers of the Year”

Robert L. DeJong – Litigation-Trusts and Estates

Lansing, Michigan “Lawyers of the Year”

Thomas C. Phillips – Environmental Law

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 39,000 leading attorneys cast almost 3.1 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”